Twitter is testing how to “free” itself from conversations

Twitter mention functional test

Twitter is rolling out new features that allow you to “unreference” yourself from unwanted conversations on the microblogging platform. The Unmentioning feature is currently available as a test and, like most Twitter test features, is available to some users on the web platform. Details are here.

On Twitter, you can leave a conversation if you want

Twitter announced this feature in a recent tweet. This tweet also contains a GIF showing how the feature works. If you’ve been mentioned in a Twitter conversation and want to get out of it because it’s unwanted or ugly, click on the three dotted menus in the upper right corner of your reply. Select the “Leave this conversation” option..

An additional menu is displayed, showing the details of the function. You can finally “untagged” yourself from the reply by tapping the same option again. This is a glance.

Further information suggests that your name will not be tagged from the conversation when you no longer mention yourself, you Will not be tagged again in that conversationI haven’t received any notifications.

This feature is similar to how you remove yourself from Facebook tagged posts, much if things can be toxic (and often happen) on your platform. It will help.

Currently being tested for some users, it’s unclear if Twitter will be an official feature for all users.On the other hand, the company has been a feature that has been requested for many years recently.[編集]I’ve confirmed that the button test is about to begin.

So what do you think of Twitter’s new “unreference” feature? Do you think it can really help maintain your peace? Please let us know your thoughts on this in the comments below!